WORLD OF GLASS – ST HELENS
The town of St Helen’s placed host to some of Britain’s most iconic household and manufacturing brands during the 18th & 19th Century, and is best known for Glass Manufacturing, leading the market for this industry in Victorian times. One important glass manufacturer, Pilkington is still headquartered in St Helens, producing the UK’s entire output of float glass – now a routine product in car windscreens, double glazing and more.
The World of Glass (charitable museum) was officially opened by Sir Anthony Pilkington in 2000, following the £1m restoration of the Grade II listed Pilkington’s Jubilee Cone, a brick cone structure built in 1887 to house the first ever continuous glass making furnace. Following this restoration, the Pilkington’s, supported by the local Council, converted this now redundant factory space into a charitable museum to house its historic glass collection. The visitor centre has gone beyond simply showcasing the historic glass collection of Pilkington’s, and now plays host to a museum that showcases the history of St Helens, an education centre for young people, a space for local artists to exhibit and retail their works, a café and an opportunity for the public to enjoy the craft of glass blowing.
Rainford Hall provided the ancestral family home of the Pilkington Family in 1885, during the emergence of one of the Borough’s most extensive local employers. Steps Together remain committed to The World of Glass and have introduced a small hand blown glass and local artist display for our clients to routinely purchase, or simply enjoy at Rainford Hall – Bringing Glass back to the ancestral home of this iconic family.
Beyond this, our clients can routinely enjoy excursions to The World of Glass Museum, and experience a private demonstration in the traditional craft of Glass Blowing, whilst enjoying the many visitor attractions on offer at the Museum.