Group 8

For a confidential discussion call 0330 175 7031 or tap here

Rainford Hall’s Heritage2023-08-23T22:05:05+00:00

RAINFORD HALL’S HERITAGE

Welcome to the iconic Rainford Hall, nestled in the historic and tranquil 600-acre country estate and former ancestral home of Colonel Richard Pilkington, a founding partner of the iconic Pilkington Glass Company in 1826.

Rainford Hall is now operated by Steps Together, to provide a new high-end wellbeing retreat for those suffering with addictions, stress, depression and anxiety.

Perfectly positioned on the outskirts of Lancashire & Merseyside, Rainford Hall Estate provides c600 acres of woodland and open countryside, creating the perfect haven for Steps Together to deliver a unique range of residential, outpatient and tailored retreat programmes, carefully designed by Steps Together’s expert team to ensures a winning combination that supports individuals, families and employers secure sustained improvement and recovery from poor mental health and wellbeing, or addictions.

Offering a range of 19 individual luxury bedroom suites in the Historic Rainford Hall, and further accommodation for up to 5 individual guests at Fenny Bank Cottage – both provide the perfect solution for individual’s or private groups to secure their recovery.

Call 0330 175 7031 or fill out our enquiry form to receive a confidential call from our client relations team.

Call 0330 175 7031 or fill out our enquiry form to receive a confidential call from our client relations team.

Call 0330 175 7031 or fill out our enquiry form to receive a confidential call from our client relations team.

RAINFORD HALL’S HISTORY

August 1592

1592

Rainford Hall was known as Richard Lyon’s House, after being given to Richard Lyon in 1592 by William and Catherine Tarleton. At that time was less than half of its current size.

August 1837

1837 – 1874

In 1837, Lyon House was bought by Dr. Zachariah Sillar, who then changed its name to Rainford Hall. In1864, the house was sold to Dr Alexander McKibben. Between 1864, and 1874 the Hall experienced a fire.

August 1875

1875

On the 30th September 1875, the Hall and 90 acres of land were bought for £23,000 by Col. Richard Pilkington – A founding partner of the St Helen’s Crown Glass Company; later to be known (1849) as Pilkington Brothers, and latterly the iconic, global Pilkington Glass Company.

1875 – 1885

Between 1875 & 1885, Col. Richard Pilkington and Mrs. Louisa Pilkington (Sinclair) engaged the work of architects Medland & Taylor of Manchester. In 1885 the house was enlarged to double its size, with the introduction of bay windows, a porch, and the North East Wings. Creating the perfect home for the Colonel and his family.

August 1886

1886

In 1886 AD, Stained Glass Windows were installed at Rainford Hall, depicting historical events of the Pilkington Family since 1066, were designed by P.H. Newman and made by Heaton, Butler and Baines of London. These windows remain fully intact and provide the perfect backdrop to the original grand staircase at the Hall today.

August 1902

1902

1902 the Hall had a Candlestick telephone installed, and in 1904 Electricity was installed, enabling the Hall to remove the gas lamps in all rooms.

August 1930

1930

Rainford Hall Estate has an extensive history of Pheasant and Grouse Shooting, spanning many decades, and even to the present day providing a home for the Rainford Hall Shooting Syndicate, who maintain an active annual shoot calendar.

August 1947

1947 – 1960

Lancashire County Council leased the Hall as a Children’s Home for £300 per year, which subsequently closed its doors in 1960.

August 1961

1961 – 1974

Liverpool Education Committee took occupation of the Hall, and used the accommodation as a hostel for students at the C.F. Mott College of Education in Prescott.

August 1974

1974 – 1980

The had a period of disuse, and mainly provided storage facilities for the former Care Home at neighbouring Crank House, and Fairfield Hospital.

August 1981

1981 – 2021

Rainford Hall was converted into a business centre and self-contained office suites.

August 2021

2021

On the 1st November, 202, following a successful change of use planning application, Steps Together took occupation of the hall by way of a 20+ year commercial lease and commenced a full restoration and refurbishment programme to create a 19-bed roomed luxury health, wellbeing and rehabilitation centre for adults.

RESTORATION & REFURBISHMENT

MAKE AN ENQUIRY

Please fill out the form below if you wish to receive a confidential call from our client relations team.

Other methods of contact

MAKE AN ENQUIRY

Please fill out the form below if you wish to receive a confidential call from our client relations team.

Other methods of contact